Book Review: Little Monsters

littlemonsters1Author: Kara Thomas

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Genre: YA mystery

Pages: 329

Rating: 5/5 stars

Synopsis:

“Kacey is the new girl in Broken Falls. When she moved in with her father, she stepped into a brand-new life. A life with a stepbrother, a stepmother, and strangest of all, an adoring younger half sister.

Kacey’s new life is eerily charming compared with the wild highs and lows of the old one she lived with her volatile mother. And everyone is so nice in Broken Falls—she’s even been welcomed into a tight new circle of friends. Bailey and Jade invite her to do everything with them.

Which is why it’s so odd when they start acting distant. And when they don’t invite her to the biggest party of the year, it doesn’t exactly feel like an accident.

But Kacey will never be able to ask, because Bailey never makes it home from that party. Suddenly, Broken Falls doesn’t seem so welcoming after all—especially once everyone starts looking to the new girl for answers.

Kacey is about to learn some very important lessons: Sometimes appearances can be deceiving. Sometimes when you’re the new girl, you shouldn’t trust anyone”

I think Kara Thomas is easily becoming one of my favorite authors. I would even go as far to say that she’s making me fall in love with a genre I wouldn’t normally be into. I’m an easily scared person, so mystery books aren’t usually my cup of tea… but Little Monsters is giving me the chills in every amazing way possible. When I finished this book I was so emotionally overwhelmed that I couldn’t sit still, and that’s when I realized that I’m falling in love with Kara Thomas’s books.

I was blown away by this book. I was so utterly overwhelmed and drowned in emotions at the end of this book. Kara Thomas knows how to pull off a plot twist like no other. I was so lost and unsure about where to put the blame in the book… and it wasn’t what I was expecting at all. The small town vibes in this book were ever present and kept throwing me off the trail of who to blame.

The characters in this book were scarily intriguing. I never knew who to trust, even at times I was unsure of the narrator. I loved Kasey narrative. She’s intelligent, deep, and humanly flawed. With all the changes going on in her life it was easy to connect with her struggles. Her group of friends is an entire different story. I felt weird about Bailey and Jade from the start, but I had no idea the story would evolve how it did. The book is actually told between Kasey’s perspective and Bailey’s old diary they found that had been written before she died. This whole aspect made the story so much eerier and gave more insight into the character this story really surrounds: Bailey.

The way this story is crafted along with so many characters that couldn’t be trusted added up to be a new favorite for me. I had chills down my arms for most of the book as Kara Thomas led the story through so many different twists. Kara’s writing style is amazing and I love how she tells her stories. My mind is still reeling after this ending; the only thing I know now is that I will buy and read anything Kara Thomas writes.

 

Leave a comment