Book Review: Always Forever Maybe

alwaysforevermaybe1Author: Anica Mrose Rissi

Publisher: HarperTeen

Genre: YA contemporary

Pages: 256

Rating: 3/5 stars

Synopsis:

When Betts meets Aiden at the candy store where she works, their connection is like a sugar rush to the heart. Betts already knows the two of them are infinite. Inevitable. Destined to become an us.

Betts has only ever kept one secret from her best friend, Jo, but suddenly there’s a long list of things she won’t tell her, things Jo wouldn’t understand. Because Jo doesn’t see how good Aiden is for Betts. She finds him needy. Possessive. Controlling.

She’s wrong. With a love like this, nothing else matters. ”

As much as I enjoyed this book there was one painful sore thumb sticking out at me the entire time. Really, it was the lack of something that annoyed me and made my bring my rating down so low.

This book is missing things. It’s biggest downfall was actually it’s length and that’s what hurts the most. The story felt empty and it lacked realistic elements that it could have had if there was only another sub plot. I’m so frustrated! I liked the story but the big gaping emptiness that kept it from feeling whole persistently bothered me. If another subplot had been added I think it would have strengthened the story and really showed how Betts’ mind changed but now I’m only left with this shell of what an amazing story this could be.

BUT I’m not saying this is a bad book by any means, I actually had a really good time digging into this dark story. It begins like a typical teenage love story and twists into an abusive relationship. The author wrote this PERFECTLY. Betts is a different person by the end of the book and as horrifying as it was to see how her mind changed, it was also well written and thought provoking. I couldn’t help but wonder how a relationship like that would shape someone I know, or even me if it came to that. It’s horrifying and in every way it needs to be.

Then on the other side of the abuse is Aiden who was a fascinating character and hasn’t left my mind since I finished this book. I just want to understand him and pick apart the pieces of him until I understand his character. But I won’t, I never will and it’s one of the many open details left for the reader to dwell in at the end of the book. In the beginning he was likable and a well written schmoozer. I could see how Betts was falling for him even when he became someone else. So many times in this story I just wanted to pull Betts away from him, it made my heart hurt. The darkness in this story is written perfectly and I urge those who have never read a book over this topic to grab this one.

Reading the abuse scenes in this book hurt. I was mentally pleading with Betts to walk away and physically crying ( because I’m a massive crier) during every abuse scene. Betts mind was molded like clay as she was manipulated and seeing it happen without being able to stop it was it’s own kind of torture. The abuse starts out as being emotional and works it’s way up to physical attacks and I just wanted to reach into this story and help Betts. But when I wasn’t there her best friend was.

Jo has to be one of my all time favorite fictional best friends. This girl was AMAZING. I wish the author would write a companion book about her; I would read it in a heartbeat. She’s a online famous baker and one of the best best friends to exist. Despite Betts blowing her off and not heeding her advice about Aiden she was still there in the end. When Betts was mad and yelling at her she was still there, she was even still there when Betts wanted to love Aiden despite all his abuse. She never let Betts push her away and I admire her character a lot for it.

Aside from Jo there was a diverse cast of side characters that kept this story alive and fueled the only real subplot the story has. I enjoyed the world building in this story and how it came alive like a real town that I could visit. I think the other side character I really enjoyed was Jo’s twin brother Eric… but I’ll let you discover him for yourself.

All in all this book is important to read. It’s a tough story to go through but it covers a topic that needs to be understood. That being said, if it’s not already obvious, I give this book a huge trigger warning for emotional and physical abuse.

signature

 

 

Leave a comment