ARC Review: Majesty

51518972Author: Katharine  McGee

Genre: Alternate History

Release Date: 09.01.20

Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers

Source: Publisher via NetGalley

My Rating: 5/5 stars

Synopsis: “Is America ready for its first queen?

Power is intoxicating. Like first love, it can leave you breathless. Princess Beatrice was born with it. Princess Samantha was born with less. Some, like Nina Gonzalez, are pulled into it. And a few will claw their way in. Ahem, we’re looking at you Daphne Deighton.

As America adjusts to the idea of a queen on the throne, Beatrice grapples with everything she lost when she gained the ultimate crown. Samantha is busy living up to her “party princess” persona…and maybe adding a party prince by her side. Nina is trying to avoid the palace–and Prince Jefferson–at all costs. And a dangerous secret threatens to undo all of Daphne’s carefully laid “marry Prince Jefferson” plans.

A new reign has begun…. “

grayline

NOTE: This review does not contain any spoilers for American Royals or Majesty!

grayline

This was everything I could’ve hoped for in a sequel and more.

After I read American Royals in 2019 I’ve been eagerly waiting to get my hands on the sequel. And wow. Oh wow. Majesty blew me away. The writing was addicting and the way that Katharine McGee shaped with this story was masterful.

One of my favorite parts of these two books has always been the characters, especially now after finishing this one. The character development was unbelievably good. The transformation that every individual character got was perfect. I particularly enjoyed the development of Beatrice and Daphne. I grew to enjoy both characters significantly more throughout the sequel!

And, if you thought the romance in the first book was good just wait! I never expected the romances in this book to go how they did, but I loved the new directions. There were a few couples I shipped so hard it felt like my heart was going to burst! They were adorable and so so romantic. I think I may even be a little in love with Teddy.

Finally, that ending nailed it. It was fulfilling and a near perfect wrap on the story. I loved how the different plot lines were cleaned up and where all the characters ended up with their development. I adore this story sooo much and I’m keeping my fingers crossed that maybe, just maybe, the author will return to these characters again someday! I would die over a few novellas written after the ending. I won’t be spoiling anything, but there is one character that I need a future novella for! So, here’s to hoping!

Overall this was a fantastic sequel. The writing is lovely and the plot will keep you hooked. It’s a wild ride from start to finish but a wild ride that you have to read! It completes the story beautifully and I cannot recommend this sequel enough.

Thank you so much to the publisher for providing me with an E-Arc of Majesty in exchange for an honest review! Opinions are all my own.

signature

1 thought on “ARC Review: Majesty”

Leave a comment