Mid Year Book Freakout Tag 2020

Hello friends! Today I’m participating in something that I haven’t done since the very beginning of my blog: a book tag. While I was brainstorming what I should post today I stumbled across the Mid Year Book Freakout Tag and I knew it was perfect for today. So, without further ado here is my take on the tag:

1. Best book you’ve read in so far in 2020

52766407. sx318 sy475 My answer for this is easy: Today Tonight Tomorrow by Rachel Lynn Solomon. I was lucky enough to be approved for an E-ARC of this title and I LOVED it. It’s an adorable enemies-to-lovers romance with lots of heart. It takes on stereotypes surrounding romance novels, involves a school wide game, and takes place over a magical 24hr period. It comes out this July and it deserves a spot on your shelves! Make sure to preorder it asap!

 

 

2. Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2020

38880852. sy475 I just realized after this question that I’ve read an embarrassingly small amount of sequels this year. However, regardless of that number my answer is easily Soul of Stars by Ashley Poston! I’ve fallen in love with Poston’s writing. Not only is she amazing with her contemporary work, but her sci-fi duology was fantastic! I cannot wait to get my hands on both of her upcoming releases this Fall.

 

 

3. New release you haven’t read yet, but want to

46258515My choice for this prompt would have to be Parachutes by Kelly Yang which came out May 26th of this year. When I discovered this book I knew it was a must read title and I’m looking forward to picking it up sometime soon! Not only is the cover beautiful, but this book sounds like an important story surrounding immigration , trauma, and the power of speaking out.

 

 

4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year

I don’t think I’ll be able to pick just one for this prompt! There are several huge releases coming out during the second half of this year that I’m beyond excited for. A few of my favorite authors are releasing titles and choosing between them is too hard!

49757149

45167534. sy475

48929807    46223301

5. Biggest Disappointment

28114396. sy475 Saying I wasn’t a fan of Ever the Hunted is a bit of an understatement. I was severely disappointed by this book and it’s sequel. If you’d like to read more about my thoughts and feelings about this title you can find my review here!

 

 

 

 

6. Biggest Surprise

Clique BaitThis book surprised me by being so much better than my expectations! I went into Clique Bait with minimal information and low expectations. However, I really enjoyed this book! It was gripping, mysterious, and the perfect revenge story. If you want to hear more of my thoughts you can find my review here!

 

 

 

7. Favorite new author (debut or new to you)

24921954. sy475 Katharine McGee! I started her books last year with American Royals and continued to fall in love with her writing through the The Thousandth Floor trilogy. I binge read the entire series earlier this year and since then she has become a favorite author to me! I cannot wait to read her upcoming release.

 

 

 

8. Newest Fictional Crush

45891343Brett Wells from The Upside of Falling all day everyday. It’s just hard to resist a kind jock with emotional depth, ya know? I’ve actually read this book twice so far in 2020 and adored it both times. I will never tire of the fake dating trope and this book pulls it off masterfully.

 

 

 

9. Newest favorite character

52766407. sx318 sy475 For this prompt I can’t help but bring up Today Tonight Tomorrow for a second time. I love the female protagonist in this book, Rowan Roth. She’s competitive, opinionated, and a wonderful narrator. So much of my love for this story comes from her and I cannot wait for this book to hit shelves so that the world can see what I’m talking about!

 

 

 

10. Book that made you cry

51901322. sx318 sy475 It’s a little weird to admit, but I could fill this spot with almost any book that I’ve read this year. I’m a very emotional person and I cry a lottt while reading. However, I’ve decided to chose Verona Comics because of how deeply emotional this story is. The way it touches on mental health was raw and wonderful which led me to a lot of crying fests.

 

 

 

11. Book that made you happy

44654627One of Us is Next by Karen M. McManus! Anytime a book by this author comes I am inexplicably happy. She’s an amazing writer and she always manages to blow me away with her work. Simply getting to read her stories makes me very happy.

 

 

 

 

12. Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year (or recieved)

50892133For this prompt I have to go with my E-ARC of All This Time! The cover is stunning. However, I unfortunately wasn’t a fan of this book. It wasn’t bad, but it also wasn’t a book that lines up with my reading tastes. To read more about my thoughts and opinions you can find my review here!

 

 

 

13. What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

7171637. sy475 I’ve been meaning to read Clockwork Angel for years and I promised myself that this would be the year I do it! Although I wasn’t a fan of the TMI series I’ve been hopefuly about picking up TID. I’ve heard many positive reviews that are keeping me hopeful that I’ll end up enjoying the trilogy.

 

 

 

 

Now, what about you? Let me know if you’ve read any of these titles or share what book you’d use for the prompts! And, if you’re considering taking part then consider yourself tagged!

signature

1 thought on “Mid Year Book Freakout Tag 2020”

  1. I’m looking forward to Today Tonight Tomorrow, it sounds so good, and I’ve only heard amazing things so far. 😀

    Like

Leave a comment