Book Review: Ever The Hunted

28114396. sy475 Author: Erin Summerill

Genre: YA Fantasy

Release Date: 12.27.16

Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers

Source: Book Box

My Rating: 1.5/5 stars

Synopsis: Seventeen year-old Britta Flannery is at ease only in the woods with her dagger and bow. She spends her days tracking criminals alongside her father, the legendary bounty hunter for the King of Malam—that is, until her father is murdered. Now outcast and alone and having no rights to her father’s land or inheritance, she seeks refuge where she feels most safe: the Ever Woods. When Britta is caught poaching by the royal guard, instead of facing the noose she is offered a deal: her freedom in exchange for her father’s killer.

However, it’s not so simple.

The alleged killer is none other than Cohen McKay, her father’s former apprentice. The only friend she’s ever known. The boy she once loved who broke her heart. She must go on a dangerous quest in a world of warring kingdoms, mad kings, and dark magic to find the real killer. But Britta wields more power than she knows. And soon she will learn what has always made her different will make her a daunting and dangerous force.”

grayline

I’m sad to say that I didn’t like this book. I’ve had a copy of Ever the Hunted on my shelves for a while and I was feeling hopeful… but this story wasn’t for me.

After Britta’s Father is murdered she is given the chance to hunt for the man who killed him. However, it’s not so simple. The alleged killer is Cohen, her childhood best friend and the boy she’s always loved.

From that description, I was so excited to read it. However, I struggled from page one. The writing was too descriptive and lost my attention easily, especially during the first few chapters. Also, the plot pushed and pulled a lot which contributed to my lack of focus. On top of that, this book is very tell, don’t show… which added to the lack of overall depth and development that I will touch on later.

I also didn’t enjoy the characters or their relationships. Britta was very plain and didn’t add much to the story… and Cohen? He’s a joke. He has no personality, no motivation, and is practically a piece of cardboard in the shape of a man. Their romance was hit or miss per scene, with the occasional cute moment but also some awkward as plain Britta tries to flirt with literal CARDBOARD.

All of the side characters also lacked development and depth. The world was poorly developed and the entire story could’ve used less description on the actions and more clear building. I feel like I can’t remember a defining characteristic about any character and I only read this book about a week ago. I’m also struggling to recall a single thing about the world it took place in and all I can come up with is that there’s vaguely a war that didn’t seem so scary at all (again with the tell, don’t show writing).

Then, there’s the ending! And let me tell you, it left me baffled and confused. It didn’t sit well with me and It felt weird. At this point I’m just glad to be done.

So overall, I did not enjoy this book! I’m honestly sad about it because it had a lot of potential and I was let down by it. I’m unsure if I’ll be trying out the rest of this series, I feel it has potential to get better but also much potential to just get worse.

signature

 

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Ever The Hunted”

Leave a comment